top of page

The Seven Sorrows Rosary

The Friar Servants of Mary (commonly known as Servites) began praying the Rosary of the Seven Sorrows of Mary in the 13th century. It is a Rosary that seeks to share and meditate on the suffering of Mary in union with Her Divine Son, Jesus. There are various forms of this Rosary, but they all serve to focus our hearts on Seven Sorrows of Our Lady. 
Seven Sorrows Rosary Our Lady of Kibeho
The Story of The Seven Sorrows Rosary -Our Lady of Kibeho

Kibeho is a small town in the southern part of the country of Rwanda, Africa. Today, Kibeho is best known as a place of pilgrimages and apparitions of Our Blessed Mother which have been recognized by the Church since 2001.


The apparitions of Kibeho began on November 28th, 1981, and came to an end on November 28th, 1989. Our Lady first appeared to Alphonsine Mumureke, a 16-year-old-girl, while she was still in high school. A short while later two other young students also claimed to have had visions: Natalie Mukamazimpaka, a 17-year-old girl who saw Our Lady for almost two years, beginning in January 1982; and 21 year-old Marie Claire Mukangango, also a student, to whom Mary appeared from March to September 1982, giving her the mission of spreading her Rosary of the Seven Sorrows throughout the world. Our Mother Mary specifically shared instructions on the colors and how the rosary should be made, with a medal of Her image and Her son, Jesus, instead of the traditional cross.


The message that Our Lady delivered in Kibeho is an urgent appeal to the world: a call for  repentance and the conversion of hearts, for sincere prayer, a call to love and to live the faith intensely. But it is above all a call for personal reconciliation with Almighty God.

bottom of page